Hero Worship

I’ve been thinking a lot about starting this blog. I’ve started other blogs before, but I keep forgetting where they are…my computer has died and been reborn 3 times in the past year and each time it goes, I have to start from scratch, so please, bear with me.

I keep noticing things that go quietly by in the news stream that seem to point to the diminishing fabric of the individual, like the way you wear out the knees on a pair of jeans…it just gets thinner and thinner until one day there’s only a few strands left and then nothing.  Only in this case there may not be a patch that can cover the hole.

Ever since 9-11, the spin doctors (not the band) have been cranking out more and more mythology regarding this idea that everyone is a hero.  That’s nice, but it seems to whitewash the reality behind that which is that the boys in the backroom are working really hard to marginalize the rights of the individual.  One could almost believe that there’s a government conspiracy prepping us for some kind of radical shift in the American dream. I try not to subscribe to such fuzzy logic, but I just can’t help but notice these little, subtle tweakings of the Great American Dream Machine.

It seems like every day I hear of some “adjustment” to the mainframe of the bill of rights. And it scares me. It scares me because I’m getting older and will soon be at that age where I will be existing in the world of older Americans.  I’ve already had a taste of Public Health Care and, my friends, it is bitter and unpalatable.

I want to maintain my individuality, of course, it’s one of the tenets upon which America was built.  But I’m afraid we are quietly watching it slip away from us; distracted as we are by all the gossip and visual horror on the evening news. I’m afraid that those Hulu commercials I keep seeing on TV are trying to tell me more about the big picture, than what’s on the small screen…

3 Responses to “Hero Worship”

  1. Hi, this is a comment.
    To delete a comment, just log in, and view the posts’ comments, there you will have the option to edit or delete them.

  2. Don’t worry about dystopian futures. Something wonderful is going to happen. It will spring forth from the meatspace between your ears. That’s the only true reality. Sit in a darkened room and listen to the music of the spheres. Only there will you find answers.

  3. Father Luke Says:

    You always live in the hearts of those who love you.
    I love myself, and when I die I will live forever.

    If I were a drinking man, what I said might make sense.
    Unfortunately I have no excuse.

    But I will say I like the cut of your jib…

    he diminishing fabric of the individual, like the way you wear out the
    knees on a pair of jeans…it just gets thinner and thinner until one day
    there’s only a few strands left and then nothing.

    That kind of shit doesn’t write itself.
    It needs hunt and peck artists like you, Dog.

    Keep hunting. Keep pecking. And don’t die.
    I love you.

    – –
    Okay,
    Father Luke

Leave a Reply

